Executive Board

Carrie Rivette.jpg

Carrie Rivette


Carrie Rivette is a Professional Engineer with a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Engineering from Michigan Technological University.  She has over 19 years of experience in the environmental field, with an emphasis on soil and groundwater investigation and remediation.  She spent several years working in the site development field, concentrating on design and construction inspection.  In 2011, she began working for the City of Grand Rapids and is the Stormwater Manager for the City.   She is certified by the MDEQ in Construction and Industrial Storm Water Management and Comprehensive Soil Erosion and Sedimentation Control.


Aaron Vis

Vice-Chair & Technical Committee Chair

Aaron has served as the Chair of the Technical Committee since May 2016. He has worked for the City of Wyoming for 10 years and is currently the Assistant Director of Public Works. He oversees maintenance of the City’s road, sanitary, water, and stormwater infrastructure.  He also manages the City’s stormwater program.


Scott Conners


Scott Conners, P.E, is the City Engineer for Walker, Michigan, and has been in that position for 17 years.  He has been heavily involved in LGROW since it’s inception in the early 2000’s.  Scotts previous experience include design and consulting work that specialized in environmental areas such as soil erosion, stormwater permitting, and designing storm water quality and quantity improvements around the state.  His engineering experience helps provide the organization with a perspective that addresses the delicate balance between wise development and conservation.  He has served on many local boards and committees that provide a synergy with LGROW’s vision. Scott’s personal life includes a love of the outdoors and the environment.  He spends much of his free time camping along Lake Michigan and wading in the beautiful waters of our great state. 

Michael Staal web.jpg

Michael Staal

Public Engagement Chair

Michael Staal was born and raised in Grand Rapids, MI and graduated from Michigan State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Civil Engineering. Michael is an engineer with the City of Grand Rapids, where he focuses on stormwater management, design and maintenance of infrastructure, and management of the City’s MS4 permit. His previous experience includes flood risk management and marine construction. Growing up in the Great Lakes region, Michael has a love for being outdoors and enjoying all this watershed has to provide.


Rachell Nagorsen

Sustainability chair

Rachell Nagorsen, City of Walker’s Engineering Programs Coordinator.


Ken Krombeen

Fund Development & Membership Chair

Ken is the City Manager for the City of Grandville and was appointed by the elected City Council. He is designated as the chief administrative officer of the City government and is responsible for the daily operations and policies of the City. He is also responsible for Community Development and Planning & Zoning. He has served as the Chair of the Fund Development & Membership Committee since Spring 2016. 


Ben Jordan

Subwatershed committee chair

Ben Jordan is the Watershed Coordinator for the Ottawa Conservation District, where he oversees several projects focused on improving water quality. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Environmental Analysis and Natural Resource Management from Western Michigan University, and has worked in the Environmental field for almost 10 years. Much of his career has focused on working with landowners and agricultural producers to mitigate stormwater runoff and non-point source pollution. 


Bradley Boomstra

Stormwater Ordinance Chair

Bradley is the Senior Engineer at the Kent County Drain Commissioner’s office. The mission of the Kent County Drain Commissioner's office is to improve and maintain storm water drainage for the public health, safety, convenience, and welfare of the citizens of Kent County and also to be an effective and efficient steward of our natural and fiscal resources. Brad has served as the Chair of the Stormwater Ordinance Committee since Spring 2016.